Our core competencies in 3D CFD flow simulations

Extrusion andplastics processing

Pumps andmechanical engineering

Heat andwind simulation

Chemistry andprocess engineering

Software

We offer individual software for extrusion dies and single- and twin-screw extruders. We discuss your simulation goals together and compile an individualized software based on our Extrud3DPro code for you. Everything is tailor-made for your processes – from grid generation to the analysis with ReporterPro! And the best: the application is easy as pie – there are only a few simple steps from process definition to analysis necessary (see procedure of a process simulation).

There are diverse possibilities and almost every of your process parameters can be calculated – however, here a few examples:

Extrusion screw and die analysis:

One of the essential core elements of IANUS Simulation is the 3D CFD flow simulation for extrusion dies and screws.

Compared to costly experimental investigations, a 3D CFD flow simulation can be implemented quickly and allows a detailed insight into the process. In such a manner, a process can already be examined and optimized in the early stage of development.

Furthermore, the causes of the following errors can be identified quickly:

  • Dead zones
  • Hotspots
  • Turbulences
  • High dwell times
  • Inefficient design

The advantage for the customer is an efficient product optimization. Black specks or tear-offs on the profile can be prevented from the start, additional costs for an unnecessary high waste of material can be avoided, and the energy efficiency can be improved in the best possible way.

The modern industry already uses flow simulations for several years. The 3D CFD simulations offered by IANUS Simulation do not only allow to optimize dies but also enable to design and configure screws optimally. Whether it is about a single- or a twin-screw, IANUS Simulation makes it possible to have a deep insight into the extruder, and it is well-known that an optimally designed screw allows for the optimal throughput as well as the optimal energy efficiency.

Furthermore, simulations make it possible to identify key figures, like the temperature peaks, the energy input or the shear distribution of the most diverse screws. Thereby, it is possible to determine easily both the optimal transition into the die, a comparison of the material stress and an optimal screw design respectively a configuration for the maximum throughput.

The specifically generated code Extrud3DPro is based on the 3D FEM (FeatFlow) code. That is why the CFD flow simulation can not only be depicted in 3D, but also at high resolution.

  • No trial and error
  • Quick calculations
  • Easy handling without any initial training
  • No additional personnel and material costs
  • Low investment risk due to a high ROI and quick amortization
  • Higher product and process quality

The aim of IANUS Simulation is to depict the customer’s process in the highest quality with simultaneous low costs.

“We often had difficulties with the die changes and had to try a lot to eventually avoid specks and tear-offs on the profile due to a poor die design. Together with IANUS Simulation we are able now to produce optimally in advance and without having to rework the dies.”

Pump optimization:

The optimization of pumps and pump systems is another one of the essential core elements of IANUS Simulation.

Based on CAD data files, it is possible to carry out an individual error analysis that normally takes just a few days time. This turns out to be profitable, because thereby decrease tremendously the costs of a flow simulation as well as of a pump optimization. It results in a high ROI (Return On Investment) while just having to raise a small amount of capital on the one hand, and on the other hand in a short amortization period.

For example, a 3D CFD flow simulation allows to optimize spiral pumps, screw spindle pumps, gear pumps, oscillating positive displacement pumps or membrane pumps.

Both the simulation and a lot of empirical values permit to largely save time- and cost-intensive trials. Therefore, a simulation implemented by IANUS Simulation offers diverse benefits for developers of pumps:

  • Unintentional high shear stress
  • Cavitation
  • Pulsations
  • Turbulences in the pump
  • Unfavourable conduction relations before and behind the pump

can be significantly minimized by a 3D CFD simulation. Therefore, the wear behaviour can be optimized.

Beside the pumps it is also possible to improve the entire system in combination with the pumps to ensure the optimum utilization of the whole configuration. In the foreground stands the efficiency optimization of the system, the avoidance of costs caused by poor designs and the greatest possible increase in quality of the final products. This is always the highest aim.

Moreover, the calculation of the optimal operating point (Q/h) of the system often presents a major problem for system operators and can be defined beforehand by a simulation of the characteristic curve of the system as well as of the characteristic curve of the pump in a short period of time.

That means:

  • An investment in especially high-performance and cost-intensive computer technology is not necessary
  • Massive savings of time
  • No expensive spending in operating personnel and its familiarization
  • Short amortization period –> high ROI

Pump3DPro, our specifically adjusted 3D CFD code, which is based on the multi-awarded FeatFlow-concept, therefore presents a very economical high-tech analysis tool for the simulation, calculation and evaluation of the proceeding flow conditions. Due to our long-time experience in the area of flow simulations, IANUS Simulation is your perfect partner for the optimization of pumps and systems.

“By means of IANUS Simulation we were able to identify our optimal operating point quickly and easily. Now we do not longer have any problems with the cavitation in our gear pump.”

Air-flow simulations:

Another essential core element of IANUS Simulation is the 3D CFD simulation of turbulent flows.

In this field, there are many possibilities of flow simulations. Besides air-flow simulations in feed pipes, ovens etc., is the calculation of resistors in the automotive or wind turbine sector the newest state of the art. Heat transmission procedures for all turbulent flows – like for example in industrial ovens – can be quickly realized. Various radiation models and their influences can be very easily depicted too.

Below are some examples of possible applications:

  • Oven designs
  • Optimization of pipe-air conduction systems
  • Wind power plants
  • Automotive
  • Building design (heat and air transport)

Regardless of whether the customer wants the energy efficiency to be improved or to obtain key performance indicators, IANUS Simulation simulates these flow processes on the basis of the CAD data. By this, the customer can design their system or process efficiently.

Therefore, possible sources of errors like vortex formation or unintended unsteady heating can be identified and prevented already in advance.

Find the optimal geometry for your process by means of a 3D CFD flow simulation and the extensive experience of IANUS Simulation in the field of flow simulations. Regardless of whether you want an already existing geometry to be optimized or to be completely new designed, IANUS Simulations helps you to achieve your aims both quickly and easily.

  • No trial and error
  • Quick calculations
  • Easy handling without any initial training
  • No additional personnel and material costs
  • Low investment risk due to a high ROI and quick amortization
  • Higher product and process quality

The objective of IANUS Simulation is to attain the highest quality with a minimum of effort for the customer.

“Thanks to IANUS Simulation and their simulations we were able to find out quickly why some of our pieces of dough burnt in our oven while others were only half done.”

“Without a simulation of IANUS Simulation, it would have required eternities to find the cause of our problem. Now we significantly understand better all procedures and were able to save a lot of effort.”

Dynamic process simulation for chemistry and biotechnology

Beyond this are many more possibilities to optimize your chemical or biological processes e.g. in mixers, stirrers or blow mould projects. There are severeal possibilities to implement our CFD flow simulation solutions software platforms, for example from Aspen Technologys like:

  • Aspen Hysys©
  • Aspen Hysys Dynamics ©
  • Aspen Plus ©
  • Aspen Plus Dynamics ©
  • Aspen Custom Modeler©

On the right side you can see an example of a stirrer in which the different flow and mixing properties are shown. We would like to thank Evonik Industries for the approval to show it.

Procedure of a Software Development and Process Simulations

There are two principles that characterize IANUS:

  1. CFD-Simulations are versatile. Lots of questions, many exceptions and a field of research that is continuously developing. Good and quick results require a solid base, which we provide for your process.
  2. You as a customer need to be able to perform a simulation within a few simple steps. No training for weeks and parallel to your daily business.

We design a GUI (Graphical User Interface) that is especially customized to your needs. It serves to define all boundary conditions of the simulation for the calculation cluster quick and easily. Afterwards you can do the calculation either on

  • your cluster,
  • on the IANUS cluster,
  • or on a small system that we designed to run in a fully automatic mode (inclusively ReporterPro).

The analysis is done by ReporterPro – all flows, temperatures, etc. are illustrated in form of animations, sectional planes or diagrams.

You have a flow process different from the ones presented here?

Feel free to contact us!

Unsere Kernkompetenzen

Extrusion und Werkzeuganalyse

Pumpenoptimierung

Windsimulation

Software

Wir bieten individuelle Software für Extrusionswerkzeuge, Ein- und Doppelschneckenextruder an. Wir sprechen Ihre Simulationsziele gemeinsam ab und stellen Ihnen auf der Grundlage unseres Codes Extrud3DPro Ihre individualisierte Software zusammen. Alles auf Ihre Prozesse zugeschnitten – von der Gittergenerierung bis zur Auswertung mit unserem ReporterPro! Und das Beste: Die Anwendung ist kinderleicht – von der Prozessdefinition bis zur Auswertung sind nur wenige sehr simple Schritte erforderlich (siehe Ablauf einer Prozesssimulation).

Die Möglichkeiten sind vielfältig und nahezu jeder Parameter Ihres Prozesses kann berechnet werden – dennoch hier einige Beispiele:

Extrusion und Werkzeuganalyse

Eines der Kernelemente von IANUS Simulation ist die 3D CFD Strömungssimulation für Extrusionswerkzeugen und -schnecken.

Strömungssimulationen sind im Vergleich zu aufwendigen experimentellen Untersuchungen schnell durchgeführt und lassen einen detaillierten Einblick in den Prozess zu. So können Prozesse schon in der Entwicklungsphase untersucht und optimiert werden.

Zudem können die Ursachen der folgenden Fehler schnell identifiziert werden:

  • Totzonen
  • Hotspots
  • Verwirbelungen
  • Hohe Verweilzeiten
  • Ineffiziente Auslegungen

Dadurch bietet sich Ihnen eine effiziente Produktoptimierung. Stippen oder Abrisse am Profil werden von vorneherein verhindert, Kostenmehraufwand für unnötig hohes Materialsaufkommen vermieden und die Energieeffizienz bestmöglich gesteigert.

Die Industrie 4.0 setzt schon seit mehreren Jahren auf Strömungssimulationen. Mit den 3D CFD Strömungssimulationen von IANUS können aber nicht nur Werkzeuge optimiert werden, auch die Schnecken können optimal ausgelegt und konfiguriert werden. Ob Ein- oder Doppelschnecke, IANUS Simulation ermöglicht Ihnen einen Einblick in Ihren Extruder, denn: Eine optimal ausgelegte Schnecke ermöglicht den optimalen Durchsatz und die optimale Energieeffizienz.

Simulationen ermöglichen auch die Ermittlung von Kennzahlen, zum Beispiel von der mittleren Massetemperatur und Temperaturspitzen, dem Energieeintrag oder der Scherverteilung unterschiedlichster Schnecken. Dadurch lässt sich der optimale Übergang in das Werkzeug und eine Gegenüberstellung der Materialbeanspruchung ebenso leicht, wie eine optimale Schneckenauslegung bzw. -konfiguration für den maximalen Durchsatz, bestimmen.

Der eigens entwickelte Code Extrud3DPro basiert auf dem 3D FEM (FeatFlow) Code, weshalb die CFD Strömungssimulation nicht nur in 3D, sondern auch hochaufgelöst dargestellt werden kann.

  • Kein Trial & Error
  • Schnelle Berechnung
  • Einfache Handhabung ohne jegliche Einarbeitung
  • Kein zusätzlicher Personal- und Materialaufwand
  • Geringes Investitionsrisiko durch hohen ROI und schnelle Amortisation
  • Höhere Produkt- und Prozessqualität

Das Ziel von IANUS Simulation ist es Ihren Prozess mit höchster Qualität, bei gleichzeitig geringen Kosten, darzustellen.

IANUS Simulation. Sehen, verstehen und verbessern.

„Oft hatten wir Schwierigkeiten bei einem Werkzeugwechsel und mussten lange ausprobieren, um Stippen oder Abrisse am Profil durch ein schlechtes Werkzeug zu vermeiden. Mit IANUS Simulation können wir nun im Vorfeld alles optimal produzieren, ganz ohne ewiges Nacharbeiten am Werkzeug.“

Extrusion und Werkzeuganalyse

Pumpenoptimierung

Die Optimierung von Pumpen und Pumpsystemen ist eines der Kernelemente von IANUS Simulation.

Die Optimierung von Pumpen und Pumpsystemen ist eines der Kernelemente von IANUS Simulation.
Auf Grundlage von CAD Dateien kann eine individuelle Fehleranalyse durchgeführt werden, die in der Regel wenige Tage dauert. Das rechnet sich, denn dadurch sinken die Kosten einer Strömungssimulation und Pumpenoptimierung immens. Dabei ergibt sich mit wenig Kapitaleinsatz ein hoher ROI (Return Of Invest) und eine kurze Amortisationszeit.

Mit einer 3D CFD Strömungssimulation können zum Beispiel Schneckenpumpen, Schraubspindelpumpen, Zahnradpumpen, oszillierende Verdrängerpumpen oder Membranpumpen optimiert werden.

Durch die Simulation und viele Erfahrungswerte lassen sich zeit- und kostenintensive Versuche weitestgehend einsparen. Für Pumpenentwickler bieten sich somit vielfältige Vorteile durch eine Simulation von IANUS:

  • Unbeabsichtigt hohe Scherbeanspruchungen
  • Kavitationen
  • Pulsationen
  • Verwirbelungen in der Pumpe
  • Ungünstige Leitungsverhältnisse vor und hinter der Pumpe

lassen sich durch eine 3D CFD Simulation deutlich minimieren und das Verschleißverhalten somit optimieren.

Neben den Pumpen kann aber auch das Gesamtsystem der Anlage, in Kombination mit der Pumpe, verbessert werden, um eine bestmögliche Verwendung im Verbund zu gewährleisten. Im Vordergrund steht dabei die Wirkungsgradoptimierung der Anlage, eine Kostenvermeidung durch mögliche Fehlkonstruktionen sowie eine größtmögliche Qualitätssteigerung der Endprodukte. Dies ist immer das höchste Ziel.

Zudem stellt die Ermittlung des optimalen Betriebspunkts (Q/h) der Anlage oftmals ein großes Problem für Anlagenbetreiber dar und lässt sich im Vorfeld durch eine Simulation der Anlagenkennlinie und der Pumpenkennlinie in kurzer Zeit bestimmen.

Das bedeutet:

  • keine Investition in besonders leistungsstarke und kostenintensive Recchnertechnik
  • enorme Zeitersparnis
  • keine aufwändigen Kosten für Bedienpersonal und dessen Einarbeitung
  • kurze Amortisationszeit = hoher ROI

Unser speziell dafür entwickelte 3D CFD Code Pump3DPro, der auf dem mehrfach ausgezeichneten FeatFlow-Konzept basiert, stellt hierfür ein sehr wirtschaftliches Hightech-Analysewerkzeug für Simulation, Berechnung und Auswertung der stattfindenden Strömungsverhältnisse dar.Durch die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Strömungssimulation ist IANUS Ihr perfekter Partner für eine Optimierung Ihrer Pumpen oder Anlagen.

IANUS – sehen, verstehen, verbessern.

„Mithilfe von IANUS Simulation konnten wir unseren optimalen Betriebspunkt schnell und einfach ermitteln. Wir haben nun keine Probleme mehr mit Kavitationen in unserer Zahnradpumpe.“

Pumpenoptimierung

Windsimulation

Eines der Kernelemente von IANUS Simulation ist die 3D CFD Simulation von turbulenten Strömungen.

Die Möglichkeiten für Strömungssimulationen in diesem Bereich sind vielfältig. Neben Windsimulationen in Zuleitungen, Öfen etc. ist auch die Berechnung von Widerständen z.B. im Automobil- oder Windkraftanlagenbereich ein neuester Stand der Technik. Wärmeübertragungsvorgänge für alle turbulenten Strömungen, wie man sie beispielsweise in Öfen findet, sind mittlerweile schnell zu realisieren. Auch diverse Strahlungsmodelle, mit denen solche Einflüsse abgebildet werden können, sind vorhanden.

Im Folgenden sind einige Anwendungsbeispiele:

  • Ofenauslegungen
  • Optimierung von Rohr-Luftleitungssystemen
  • Windkraftanlagen
  • Automobil
  • Gebäudeauslegung (Wärme und Lufttranssport)

Egal ob Sie eine Verbesserte Energieeffizienz oder Leistungskennzahlen wünschen, IANUS Simulation simuliert auf Grundlage der CAD Daten Ihren Strömungsprozess. Damit können Sie Ihre Anlage oder Ihren Prozess effizient auszulegen.

Mögliche Fehlerquellen wie Wirbelbildungen oder ungewollte unterschiedliche Erwärmung können somit schon im Vorfeld ermittelt und vermieden werden.

Finden Sie die optimalste Geometrie für Ihren Prozess mithilfe einer Simulation und der langjährigen Erfahrung von IANUS auf dem Gebiet der Strömungssimulationen. Egal ob eine bereits vorhandene Geometrie optimiert oder komplett neu ausgelegt werden soll, IANUS Simulation hilft Ihnen schnell und einfach Ihre Ziele zu erreichen.

  • Kein Trial & Error
  • Schnelle Berechnung
  • Einfache Handhabung ohne jegliche Einarbeitung
  • Kein zusätzlicher Personal- und Materialaufwand
  • Geringes Investitionsrisiko durch hohen ROI und schnelle Amortisation
  • Höhere Produkt- und Prozessqualität

Das Ziel von IANUS Simulation ist die höchste Qualität unter dem minimalsten Aufwand für den Kunden.

IANUS Simulation. Sehen, verstehen und verbessern.

„Dank IANUS Simulation und ihren Simulationen konnten wir schnell herausfinden, warum manche Teiglinge in unserem Ofen verbrannt sind und andere erst halb fertig waren.“

„Ohne eine Simulation von IANUS hätten wir vermutlich Ewigkeiten gebraucht, um die Ursache für unsere Problematik zu finden. Wir verstehen die Vorgänge nun deutlich besser und haben eine Menge Aufwand sparen können.“

Windsimulation

Weitere Möglichkeiten:

Darüber hinaus gibt es zahlreiche weitere Möglichkeiten und Anwendungsfelder, wie z.B. Mischer oder Rührer, bei denen wir Sie mit unseren Simulationen unterstützen können.

 

 

Ablauf einer Softwareentwicklung und der Prozesssimulationen

Es gibt zwei Grundsätze, die IANUS auszeichnen:

1. CFD-Simulationen sind vielseitig. Viele Fragestellungen, viele Ausnahmen und ein sich ständig weiterentwickelndes Forschungsfeld. Gute und schnelle Ergebnisse erfordern eine solide Grundlage, die wir Ihnen für Ihren Prozess zur Verfügung stellen.

2. Sie als Kunde müssen in der Lage sein, eine Simulation innerhalb weniger einfacher Schritte durchzuführen. Es ist keine wochenlange Einarbeitung nötig und die Simulation ist parallel zum Tagesgeschäft durchführbar.

Wir designen Ihnen eine GUI (Graphical User Interface) speziell auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten. Diese dient dazu, alle Randbedingungen der Simulation für das Rechencluster schnell & einfach zu definieren. Die Berechnung können Sie dann entweder

auf Ihrem Cluster,

auf dem IANUS Rechencluster

oder auf einem kleinen System, dass wir Ihnen so aufsetzen, dass es vollautomatisiert (inklusiv ReporterPro) läuft, durchführen.

Die Auswertung erfolgt mit unserem ReporterPro – alle Strömungen, Temperaturen etc. werden in Form von Animationen, Schnittebenen oder Diagrammen dargestellt.

Sie haben einen anderen Strömungsprozess als den hier dargestellten?

Dann kontaktieren Sie uns!

Ablauf einer Softwareentwicklung und der Prozesssimulationen